Yashasvi Jaiswal Tilak Varma Maiden Call-up India T20I

Yashasvi Jaiswal Tilak Varma Maiden Call-up India T20I: Yashasvi Jaiswal and Tilak Varma, two explosive left-handed batsmen, have been selected for the Indian T20I squad to face West Indies in August. Led by Hardik Pandya as captain and Suryakumar Yadav as deputy, the team will play five matches in the Caribbean and the USA.

Jashasvi Jaiswal Tilak Varma Maiden Call-up


Good Performances Lead to Selection:

Yashasvi Jaiswal and Tilak Varma’s impressive performances in the IPL have earned them their first call-up to the Indian T20I squad. Jaiswal is known for his power-hitting ability during the powerplay overs, while Varma has shown consistency with an average of nearly 40 in T20 cricket.

Notable Absences:

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli
  • Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli have not played T20Is for India since the 2022 T20 World Cup.
  • Along with Mohammed Siraj, a quick bowler, Ravindra Jadeja, the 2023 IPL final hero, was also overlooked.
  • The newly installed selection panel prioritizes batsmen who can score quickly from the beginning.
  • Jaiswal and Varma embody this approach, with their ability to hit boundaries from the outset.

Read also: India Vs West Indies T20I Squad: Some Surprising Omissions In T20I Squad Explained

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma

Limited Finisher Options:

  • The squad lacks recognized finishers, with Hardik Pandya being the only established option.
  • Rinku Singh, who played a similar aggressive style in the IPL, was not included in the squad.

Changes from the Previous T20I Squad

Seven members from the previous T20I squad have been sidelined, including Prithvi Shaw, Rahul Tripathi, and Washington Sundar.

Bowling Strengths

  • Yuzvendra Chahal, India’s leading wicket-taker in T20Is, will lead the bowling attack.
  • The team includes two other wrist-spinners, Kuldeep Yadav, and an experienced finger-spinner, Axar Patel.

Varied Seam Attack

  • The pace bowling unit features young left-arm seamer, Arshdeep Singh, providing swing and seam.
  • Umran Malik adds raw pace to the attack, while Mukesh Kumar retains his spot on the Test team.

Wicketkeeping Options:

Sanju Samson, part of the ODI squad, and Ishan Kishan are the wicketkeeping choices for the T20Is.


Yashasvi Jaiswal and Tilak Varma’s selection in the Indian T20I squad is a result of their impressive performances in the IPL. The team, led by Hardik Pandya, aims to showcase an aggressive batting approach with a focus on boundary hitting. The bowling attack, led by Yuzvendra Chahal, provides a mix of spin and pace options.

Author Profile

Khurshid Anwar
Khurshid Anwar
I am a computer science trainer, motivator, blogger, and sports enthusiast. Apart from academic activities, I'm a very passionate reader and writer on various subjects like technology, Sports, and finance.

Leave a Comment