India vs West Indies T20I Squad: Some Surprising Omissions in T20I Squad Explained

India vs West Indies T20I Squad: India’s T20I squad for the West Indies series witnesses the inclusion of promising young players. Omissions of Ruturaj Gaikwad, Rinku Singh, and Jitesh Sharma raise eyebrows. The focus on building a team for the 2024 T20 World Cup is evident. Let’s analyze the reasons behind these exclusions and understand the competition within the team.

WhatsApp Group Join Now
Telegram Group Join Now
Instagram Group Join Now

India vs West Indies T20I Squad

Ruturaj Gaikwad Omissions

  • Gaikwad had an exceptional IPL 2023 season, scoring 590 runs with a strike rate of 147.50.
  • The packed cricketing calendar might have influenced the decision to exclude him from the T20I squad.
  • Gaikwad was already selected for the Tests and ODIs against West Indies, along with upcoming fixtures against Ireland and Asian Games.

Competition for Opening Slots

  • Shubman Gill, a highly regarded talent, has been a part of the national team for some time and is difficult to leave out.
  • Yashasvi Jaiswal’s impressive IPL 2023 performance made it a matter of time before he secured a place in the T20I side.
  • Ishan Kishan, who has scored 629 runs in 25 T20Is, is another strong contender for the opening position.

Rinku Singh Omissions

Rinku Singh
Rinku Singh
  • Rinku Singh’s exclusion surprised many, especially after his impressive six-hitting display in IPL 2023.
  • He could have been a valuable finisher in the T20I squad, possibly batting at number six.
  • The decision to exclude Rinku might be due to his potential selection for the Ireland T20Is and the Asian Games.

Read more: Rinku Singh Biography Wiki, Age, Height, Weight, Wife, Girlfriend, Family, Career, Net Worth, Stats, Miracle Inning of 5 sixes

Jitesh Sharma Omissions

  • Jitesh Sharma showcased his skills in IPL 2023, scoring 309 runs with a strike rate of 156.06.
  • The presence of Sanju Samson and Ishan Kishan as wicketkeeper-batters posed a challenge to Jitesh’s inclusion.
  • Although Jitesh was called up as a replacement in the previous series, he did not get an opportunity to play.

India’s T20I squad for West Indies

Ishan Kishan (Wicketkeeper), Shubman Gill, Surya Kumar Yadav (Vice-captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Sanju Samson (Wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya (Captain), Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, Umran Malik, Mukesh Kumar.


The inclusion of young players like Yashasvi Jaiswal and Tilak Varma indicates India’s transition in T20Is. The competition for spots in the team is intense, leading to the exclusion of talented players like Ruturaj Gaikwad, Rinku Singh, and Jitesh Sharma. While their omission is disappointing, opportunities may arise in the future series against Ireland and the Asian Games.

Author Profile

Khurshid Anwar
Khurshid Anwar
I am a computer science trainer, motivator, blogger, and sports enthusiast. Apart from academic activities, I'm a very passionate reader and writer on various subjects like technology, Sports, and finance.

Leave a Comment