IPL Auction 2024: Pat Cummins Most expensive player in IPL history

Pat Cummins Most expensive player: Sunrisers Hyderabad acquired Pat Cummins for a staggering Rs 20.50 crore, setting a new IPL auction record.

WhatsApp Group Join Now
Telegram Group Join Now
Instagram Group Join Now

IPL Auction 2024: Pat Cummins Most expensive player

  • Australian international cricketer: Captains the national team in Test and ODI cricket.
  • Right-arm fast bowler: Renowned for accuracy, line & length, considered one of the greatest Test bowlers ever.
  • Lower-order batsman: Known for contributing valuable runs with the bat.
  • World’s #1 Test bowler: Achieved the top ranking in ICC Men’s Test Bowling Rankings as of January 2023.
  • World Cup champion: Part of winning teams in the 2015 ODI World Cup & 2021 T20 World Cup.
  • Winning captain: Led Australia to victory in the 2021-23 ICC World Test Championship & 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup.
  • Early debut & setbacks: Debuted at 18 in 2011, but injuries hampered his career until 2015 (ODI) & 2017 (Test).
  • Australian cricket’s top honor: Awarded the Allan Border Medal in 2019 for being the best Australian cricketer of the year.
  • Global recognition: Nominated for ICC Men’s Test Cricketer of the Year in 2019.
  • Permanent Test captaincy: Appointed as Australia’s permanent Test captain in November 2021.
Sam Curran

The most expensive player in IPL history

YearPlayerTeamAmount (in crores)
2024Pat CumminSunrisers Hyderabad20.5
2023Sam CurranPunjab Kings (PBKS)18.5
2022Ishan KishanMumbai Indians (MI)15.25
2021Chris MorrisRajasthan Royals (RR)16.25
2020Pat CumminsKolkata Knight Riders (KKR)15.5
2019Jaydev UnadkatRajasthan Royals (RR)8.4
2019Varun ChakravarthyKings XI Punjab (now Punjab Kings)8.4
2018Ben StokesRajasthan Royals (RR)12.5
2017Ben StokesRising Pune Supergiant (RPS)14.5
2016Shane WatsonRoyal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)9.5
2015Yuvraj SinghDelhi Daredevils (DD, now DC)16
2014Yuvraj SinghRoyal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)14
2013Glenn MaxwellMumbai Indians (MI)6.3
2012Ravindra JadejaChennai Super Kings (CSK)12.8
2011Gautam GambhirKolkata Knight Riders (KKR)14.9
2010Shane BondKolkata Knight Riders (KKR)4.8
2010Kieron PollardMumbai Indians (MI)4.8
2009Andrew FlintoffChennai Super Kings (CSK)9.8
2009Kevin PietersenRoyal Challengers Bangalore9.8
2008MS DhoniChennai Super Kings (CSK)9.5

Author Profile

Khurshid Anwar
Khurshid Anwar
I am a computer science trainer, motivator, blogger, and sports enthusiast. Apart from academic activities, I'm a very passionate reader and writer on various subjects like technology, Sports, and finance.

Leave a Comment