MS Dhoni Steps Down as CSK Captain, Ruturaj Gaikwad Takes Over Ahead of IPL 2024, MS The Best

MS Dhoni Steps Down as CSK Captain: The Indian Premier League (IPL) franchise Chennai Super Kings (CSK) made a surprising announcement on March 21, appointing Ruturaj Gaikwad as its new captain. This decision is a shocker for CSK fans. The legendary Mahendra Singh Dhoni has stepped down as the skipper after a highly successful stint.

WhatsApp Group Join Now
Telegram Group Join Now
Instagram Group Join Now

MS Dhoni Steps Down as CSK Captain, Ruturaj Gaikwad Takes Over

mahendra singh dhoni
mahendra singh dhoni

Dhoni, who led CSK to five IPL titles, has earned the title of ‘Thalaiva’ (Tamil for leader) among the franchise’s fans. With a whopping 133 wins, he is the most successful IPL captain, followed by Rohit Sharma with 87 victories.

Read also: MS Dhoni Net Worth in 2023, Bio: Mahi the Captain Cool

Ruturaj Gaikwad: The New Captain

Ruturaj Gaikwad
Ruturaj Gaikwad

Presenting @ChennaiIPL’s Captain – @Ruutu1331,” the IPL posted on X platform shortly after releasing a picture of all captains posing with the IPL trophy.

Born in 1997, Ruturaj made his debut in the IPL format in 2020 and quickly made a strong impression. He was retained by CSK in the 2022 edition for Rs 6 crore.

Gaikwad’s Journey with CSK

  • Ruturaj has been an integral part of Chennai Super Kings since 2019 and has played 52 matches in the IPL during this period.
  • The stylish opener had a memorable run last year, aggregating 590 runs in 16 games at an impressive strike rate of 147.50.
  • Gaikwad, who has played six ODIs and 19 T20s for India, made his CSK debut in 2020.
IPL auction 2024
IPL 2024

A Smooth Transition

Dhoni is expected to retire at the end of the season, and therefore, the franchise felt the need for a smooth transition in Dhoni’s presence as a player, reported PTI on March 21.

IPL 2024 Kicks Off

The 42-year-old Dhoni’s decision comes a day ahead of the high-stakes opening match of IPL 2024 between Chennai Super Kings and Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Read also: IPL 2024 Schedule,  Match Date, Venue, Best Teams

Friday’s opening game will be followed by double-headers at the weekend, with 21 matches set to take place across 10 cities by April 7. BCCI is expected to soon release the remainder of the schedule now that the Lok Sabha 2024 elections have been announced.

Author Profile

Khurshid Anwar
Khurshid Anwar
I am a computer science trainer, motivator, blogger, and sports enthusiast. Apart from academic activities, I'm a very passionate reader and writer on various subjects like technology, Sports, and finance.

Leave a Comment