Most Expensive IPL Auction, From Dhoni in 2008 to Sam Curran in 2023, IPL Auction 2024

Most Expensive IPL Auction: The Indian Premier League (IPL) is about to start.  Where cricket transforms into a live spectacle packed with drama, action, strategic moves, and nail-biting auctions. Since its kickoff in 2008, IPL auctions have been a platform for mind-boggling deals, transforming players into bona fide superstars for their franchise teams. IPL auctions have been the stage for crazy deals, turning players into superstar assets for franchise teams. The IPL Auction 2024 will be in December 2024.

WhatsApp Group Join Now
Telegram Group Join Now
Instagram Group Join Now

Most Expensive IPL Auction: Dhoni in 2008 to Sam Curran in 2023

YearPlayerTeamAmount (in crores)
2008MS DhoniChennai Super Kings (CSK)9.5
2009Andrew FlintoffChennai Super Kings (CSK)9.8
2009Kevin PietersenRoyal Challengers Bangalore9.8
2010Shane BondKolkata Knight Riders (KKR)4.8
2010Kieron PollardMumbai Indians (MI)4.8
2011Gautam GambhirKolkata Knight Riders (KKR)14.9
2012Ravindra JadejaChennai Super Kings (CSK)12.8
2013Glenn MaxwellMumbai Indians (MI)6.3
2014Yuvraj SinghRoyal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)14.0
2015Yuvraj SinghDelhi Daredevils (DD, now DC)16.0
2016Shane WatsonRoyal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)9.5
2017Ben StokesRising Pune Supergiant (RPS)14.5
2018Ben StokesRajasthan Royals (RR)12.5
2019Jaydev UnadkatRajasthan Royals (RR)8.4
2019Varun ChakravarthyKings XI Punjab (now Punjab Kings)8.4
2020Pat CumminsKolkata Knight Riders (KKR)15.5
2021Chris MorrisRajasthan Royals (RR)16.25
2022Ishan KishanMumbai Indians (MI)15.25
2023Sam CurranPunjab Kings (PBKS)18.5
IPL 2024

2008: MS Dhoni (Chennai Super Kings) – ₹9.5 crore

  • MS Dhoni, the cool Indian captain, set the stage in the first IPL auction, bagging a massive ₹9.5 crore deal with the Chennai Super Kings (CSK).
Most Expensive IPL Auction
CSK IPL 2023 Predictions

2009: Flintoff & Pietersen – ₹9.8 crore each

  • English buddies Andrew Flintoff and Kevin Pietersen shared the limelight in 2009, both grabbing ₹9.8 crore deals. Flintoff joined CSK, and Pietersen played for Royal Challengers Bangalore.

2010: Shane Bond & Kieron Pollard – ₹4.8 crore each

  • 2010 saw Shane Bond and Kieron Pollard sharing the most expensive title, each bagging ₹4.8 crore deals with Kolkata Knight Riders and Mumbai Indians, respectively.

2011: Gautam Gambhir (KKR) – ₹14.9 crore

  • Gautam Gambhir in 2011 signed a whopping ₹14.9 crore deal with Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), turning the team’s fortunes.

2012: Ravindra Jadeja (CSK) – ₹12.8 crore

  • All-rounder Ravindra Jadeja grabbed headlines in 2012, securing a hefty ₹12.8 crore deal with CSK,

2013: Glenn Maxwell (MI) – ₹6.3 crore

  • Australian all-rounder Glenn Maxwell entered the IPL scene in 2013 with a ₹6.3 crore deal with Mumbai Indians (MI), proving himself in later seasons.

2014: Yuvraj Singh (RCB) – ₹14 crore

  • India’s white-ball specialist Yuvraj Singh became the first player in a massive ₹14 crore deal with Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in 2014, showing his T20 prowess.

2015: Yuvraj Singh (DD) – ₹16 crore

  • Yuvraj was again the star in 2015, securing a colossal ₹16 crore deal with Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals).

2016: Shane Watson (RCB) – ₹9.5 crore

  • Australian all-rounder Shane Watson grabbed attention in 2016 with a ₹9.5 crore deal with Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB).

2017: Ben Stokes (RPS) – ₹14.5 crore

  • Ben Stokes became the priciest player in 2017, joining Rising Pune Supergiant (RPS) for ₹14.5 crore, proving his worth with bat and ball.

2018: Ben Stokes (RR) – ₹12.5 crore

  • Stokes repeated the feat in 2018, fetching ₹12.5 crore with Rajasthan Royals (RR), creating history.

2019: Unadkat & Chakravarthy – ₹8.4 crore each

  • The surprise package of 2019 was Jaydev Unadkat and Varun Chakravarthy, sharing the spotlight with ₹8.4 crore deals for RR and Kings XI Punjab (now Punjab Kings).
Varun Chakravarthy

2020: Pat Cummins (KKR) – ₹15.5 crore

  • Aussie pacer Pat Cummins set a record in 2020, becoming the costliest player with a ₹15.5 crore deal with Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR).

2021: Chris Morris (RR) – ₹16.25 crore

  • Chris Morris stole the show in 2021, bagging ₹16.25 crore from Rajasthan Royals (RR), proving his worth with stellar performances.

2022: Ishan Kishan (MI) – ₹15.25 crore

  • Mumbai Indians made a smart move in 2022, retaining young talent Ishan Kishan for ₹15.25 crore, recognizing his explosive batting style.
Ishan Kishan
Ishan Kishan,

2023: Sam Curran (PBKS) – ₹18.50 crore

  • In 2023, Sam Curran made history, becoming the costliest player in IPL with a jaw-dropping ₹18.50 crore deal with Punjab Kings (PBKS), thanks to his stellar T20 World Cup 2022 performances.
sam curran
sam curran

FAQ: Most Expensive IPL Auction

Who was the first-ever most expensive player in the IPL auction?

MS Dhoni bagged the honor in 2008 with a ₹9.5 crore deal with CSK.

How many times has Ben Stokes been the most expensive player in the IPL auction?

Ben Stokes did it twice, in 2017 and 2018, with ₹14.5 crore and ₹12.5 crore deals.

Which player commanded the highest price tag in the 2021 auction?

Chris Morris stole the spotlight in 2021, securing ₹16.25 crore from RR.

Who is the only player to be the most expensive in consecutive auctions?

Ben Stokes achieved this feat in 2017 and 2018.

Who holds the record for the highest-ever IPL deal as of 2023?

Sam Curran, with an eye-popping ₹18.50 crore deal in 2023.

Author Profile

Khurshid Anwar
Khurshid Anwar
I am a computer science trainer, motivator, blogger, and sports enthusiast. Apart from academic activities, I'm a very passionate reader and writer on various subjects like technology, Sports, and finance.

Leave a Comment