Shubman Gill to lead India in Zimbabwe T20Is: Best Three uncapped players included

Shubman Gill to lead India: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) selection committee, led by chief selector Ajit Agarkar, has announced a dynamic 15-member squad for the upcoming five-match T20I series against Zimbabwe. The series is set to kick off on July 6 at the iconic Harare Sports Club. The squad sees a blend of experience and fresh talent, with Shubman Gill at the helm as captain.

WhatsApp Group Join Now
Telegram Group Join Now
Instagram Group Join Now

Shubman Gill to lead India


Shubman Gill has been appointed as the captain of the Indian team for this series, stepping in for senior players like Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Hardik Pandya, Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, and Jasprit Bumrah, who have been rested following their participation in the T20 World Cup in the Caribbean. Gill, who has previously captained Gujarat Titans in the IPL, will bring his tactical acumen to the forefront as he leads a relatively young side.

Read also: Shubman Gill Biography and Net Worth 2024, Wiki, Age, Height, Weight, Wife, Girlfriend, Family

Fresh Faces Earn Call-Ups


The squad includes three debutants: Riyan Parag, Abhishek Sharma, and Nitish Reddy. Their impressive performances in the IPL have earned them their maiden call-ups to the national team.

Noise ColorFit Ultra 3 Bluetooth Calling SmartWatch with Biggest 1.96

  • Riyan Parag: Known for his all-round abilities, Riyan has been a standout performer in the IPL.
  • Abhishek Sharma: The southpaw was instrumental in SunRisers Hyderabad’s journey to the IPL final, scoring 484 runs and contributing with the ball.
  • Nitish Reddy: An exciting talent, Nitish’s performances have caught the selectors’ eyes.

Rewarding IPL Performances

The selection committee has also rewarded Tushar Deshpande for his stellar IPL season with Chennai Super Kings. Deshpande claimed 17 wickets in the 2024 season, showcasing his capability as a potent pace option.

Key Players Rested

Several senior players have been given a well-deserved rest after their exertions in the T20 World Cup, providing an opportunity for emerging players to make their mark on the international stage.

Experienced Campaigners

Sanju Samson and Yashasvi Jaiswal, both of whom were benched during the T20 World Cup, are expected to play crucial roles. Their IPL performances indicate that they are ready to step up and deliver for the national team.


Read also: Yashasvi Jaiswal Biography, Wiki, Age, Height, Hometown, Girlfriend, Family, IPL Debut & Net Worth 2023-24

India Squad for Zimbabwe Tour

Shubman Gill (c)Batsman
Yashasvi JaiswalBatsman
Ruturaj GaikwadBatsman
Abhishek SharmaAll-rounder
Rinku SinghBatsman
Sanju Samson (wk)Wicket-keeper/Batsman
Dhruv Jurel (wk)Wicket-keeper/Batsman
Nitish ReddyAll-rounder
Riyan ParagAll-rounder
Washington SundarAll-rounder
Ravi BishnoiBowler
Avesh KhanBowler
Khaleel AhmedBowler
Mukesh KumarBowler
Tushar DeshpandeBowler
Rinku Singh
Rinku Singh

Read also: Rinku Singh Biography Wiki, Age, Height, Weight, Wife, Girlfriend, Family, Career, Net Worth, Stats

Series Schedule

The T20I series against Zimbabwe will be held entirely at the Harare Sports Club, starting from July 6, with the following fixtures:

  • 1st T20I: July 6
  • 2nd T20I: July 7
  • 3rd T20I: July 9
  • 4th T20I: July 11
  • 5th T20I: July 13

This series provides a significant platform for emerging Indian players to showcase their playing skills on the international stage and stake a claim for future selections. With Shubman Gill leading a promising squad, Indian cricket fans will be eager to see how the new-look team performs against Zimbabwe.

Author Profile

Khurshid Anwar
Khurshid Anwar
I am a computer science trainer, motivator, blogger, and sports enthusiast. Apart from academic activities, I'm a very passionate reader and writer on various subjects like technology, Sports, and finance.

Leave a Comment