FIFA The Best Awards 2023: Lionel Messi and Alexia Putellas Named Best Players in Voting Results

FIFA The Best Awards 2023: The Argentina captain and FIFA world cup winner Lionel Messi won his second FIFA The Best award. Messi won this prestigious award in 2019.

Lionel Messi
Lionel Messi

Alexia Putellas for Women category FIFA The Best Awards 2023

 In the women’s category, Alexia Putellas won her second consecutive trophy. She (Alexia) scored 34 goals across all competitions in the last football season. She has won the Best FIFA Women’s Player prestigious award for the second successive year.

Emiliano Martinez for Goal-Keep FIFA The Best Awards 2023

Emiliano Martinez won The Best Men’s Goalkeeper. The 30-years old Martinez won this award by beating Thibaut Courtois of Real Madrid and Belgium and Yassine Bounou of Sevilla and Morocco.

FIFA The Best Awards 2023 other awards

Lionel Scaloni claimed The Best Men’s Manager, and Argentina’s fans earned The Best Fan award. Mary Earps won the best goalkeeper, and England manager Sarina Wiegman captured the top coach honor in the women’s category.

Messi and Putellas both made it onto the FIF Pro World 11 teams, but Martinez and Earps did not. FIFA The Best Awards were established in 2016 after FIFA detached its name from the Ballon d’Or awards. The voting was taken based on performances from Aug 2021 to Dec 2022. And for the women’s category, the performances are based on Aug 21 to Jul 22.

There were 10 award categories in total, including the FIFPro World 11 all-star teams for men and women. Pele’s wife was presented with recognition for the legacy of the Brazilian great who passed away in December 2022.

List of Winners at FIFA Awards

  • FIFA Fan Award 2022 – Argentinian fans 
  • FIFA Fair Play Award 2022 – Luka Lochoshvili 
  • The Best FIFA Men’s Player 2022- Lionel Messi (PSG/Argentina)
  • The Best FIFA Women’s Player 2022 – Alexia Putellas (Barcelona/Spain)
  • The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper 2022 – Emiliano Martínez (Aston Villa/Argentina)
  • The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper 2022 – Mary Earps (England/Manchester United) 
  • The Best FIFA Men’s Coach 2022 – Lionel Scaloni (Argentina)
  • The Best FIFA Women’s Coach 2022 – Sarina Wiegman (England)
  • FIFA Puskas Award for the most spectacular goal in 2022 – Marcin Oleksy (POL/Warta Poznan)

Author Profile

Khurshid Anwar
Khurshid Anwar
I am a computer science trainer, motivator, blogger, and sports enthusiast. Apart from academic activities, I'm a very passionate reader and writer on various subjects like technology, Sports, and finance.

Leave a Comment